Hi I am Rosemary Meechan. I live in Norfolk with my husband Don who is now semi-retired following a long military career in the Royal Air Force.

My daughter Linda and my grandson Rupert live close by and spend a lot of time with me to support and care for me with all my health issues.

Linda is a support worker for adults with learning disabilities.  Rupert is 7 years old and I help to care for him while Linda works.

As a family we enjoy time in the garden growing our own vegetables and flowers. Also, as a family we like to spend time in Scotland visiting our family and friends and family holidays in Europe.

I became a left leg below the knee amputee in July 2019, following two unsuccessful operations in 2016 and 2017 to rebuild my foot due to deformity caused by severe arthritis. A third operation was planned but with limited chance of total success, I opted to have an amputation to enable me to achieve a better quality of life.

I got my first prosthetic leg in the September 2019.

I am a retired Nurse. I had to retire in 2008 due to other health issues and have not been able to work for several years now. My Amputation hasn’t changed that.

My biggest concern before having my amputation was what clothes and shoes, I would be able to wear. I have found since having it done that, I can still wear a lot of my normal clothes and shoes without too much change.

My biggest challenge is getting back to doing everyday things with as much independence as possible.

I came across a Steel Bones poster while at an appointment at the prosthetic clinic and Linda looked it up and got me signed up and went to a group meeting just before lockdown.

Since lockdown I have enjoyed the coffee catch ups and being able to talk to others that are in the same position as me and finding ways to work things out that others have tried.

I have made some great new friends with Steel Bones and know that they group are always there if I have a problem or need to talk to someone.