What’s your name, how old are you?  My name is Lexi Alyx Chambers and i am 41 years old (young!)

Who lives with you and how old are they? Tell us a little bit about them what are their favourite colours or hobbies?  I live with my wife Shannon, who I’ve been married to for 11 years and counting. We have 2 house cats, who are both 11 years old. Winkeypoo and Jangley. Shannons main hobbies are Cycling, running, and generally any kind of fitness. She is also fantastic as slate carving.

When did you become an amputee?  I had my amputation on the 4th of April 2019, so about 9 weeks ago.

Have you got a name for your “stump”?  My wife calls my stump, ‘stumpey’!

What was the biggest concern of being an amputee?  My biggest concern was that my CRPS would come back in my stump. This is still my biggest concern.

Were you able to work as an amputee? How do you spend your days?  I have been on long term sick from my day job as a registered nurse. I also work part time as an artist, and spend alot of time creating wildlife pieces for various galleries (including the southgate gallery – Exeter). The rest of my time at the moment is spent training for and planning my event.

What’s been the biggest challenge you have had to overcome and how did you overcome it?  My biggest challenge so far has been getting in and out of my home. I live in a 1st floor apartment, with no lift. So I use crutches to get up a large step i to my building and then shuffle on my bottom upstairs!

What’s your family’s favourite thing to do?  My family’s favourite things to do together are watching movies, going out to air shows and festivals, and sporting or fitness activity that we can do together.

Have you got any funny memories that have happened since your amputation?  I was sat on the front seat of our car. Shannon was driving. I was waving my hands to music back and forth and realised that stumpey had joined in, and it was like 3 hands waving. Shannon saw and was in fits of laughter! She now gets me to do it all of the time!

When did you come across Steel Bones? What does Steel Bones do for your family?  I came across steel bones on Facebook. Before my surgery I wanted to learn as much as I could so that id be better prepared for what was coming. The members of the Steelbones Facebook group were absolutely fantastic and always answered my questions, no matter how silly.

What would you most like to achieve? Small or big is there one thing you hope to accomplish?  As for achievements. I have set myself a huge task. I want to become the 1st woman to travel from Lands end to John O’groates using my everyday normal unmodified wheelchair. Im hoping to achieve this in June next year (sponsorship and fundraising depending). I am currently trying to raise money for a slightly better wheelchair. I currently have a very heavy NHS one, which isn’t really set for alot of self propultion. I have a just giving page (wheelybigchallenge). I am also documenting the whole process, from my surgery to training for and completing my event in a blog: wheelybigchallenge.com. I also have an Instagram and facebook page of the same name. I will be raising funds for steel bones during the challenge. I estimate atm that it will take me about 30 days to complete the 874 – 1000 miles.